Why is an amount pre-authorised on your payment method for TIER journeys before the journey begins?

When a journey is started in the hvv switch app, the system reserves a fixed amount, also known as a pre-authorisation. This is to ensure that you have enough credit on your payment method to be able to pay for the journey later. At the end of the journey, only the amount actually used is collected; the remaining amount is released again afterwards.